How to NOT add addresses automatically

I recently got this email:

My problem isn’t deleting addresses but not adding them. I seem to have Tbird set such that any new replies get added to the address book. I’d rather put all new entries in manually (mostly because ‘m a lecturer and don’t need all my students’ emails in my address book). I can’t seem to find a way to unset this. Can you help?

After poking around, I think I found what you would need to stop adding entries to your address book automatically.

Auto Add

  1. Open Thunderbird
  2. Go to:
    1. On a Mac: Thunderbird > Preferences
    1. On Windows: Tools > Options
  3. Go to the Composition tab
  4. Uncheck that last checkbox that says “Automatically add outgoing e-mail addresses to my:”.

This should stop adding addresses to your Collected Address or Personal Address Book when you reply to an email.

9 Responses to How to NOT add addresses automatically

  1. Todd says:

    Thanks for this answer to the other person. I cannot believe I didn’t think of that. *sigh* Anyway, thanks.

  2. John says:

    How can I have my name and phone numbers automatically added to the end of a email I’m sending. Thanks

  3. steve says:

    I would like thunderird to automatically add the email addresses of all incoming emails to the address book. How do I set that up? Thanks

  4. SLS says:

    Thanks! This helped.

  5. Gugus says:

    My problem is somehow related to the above question: I have chosen the parameters as described in your post, and TB ads all outgoing addresses to my “collected addresses” book. In principle, that’s what I want it to do, just that I would like TB to not ad outgoing addresses to “collected addresses” if the same address figures already in any of my other address books (for instance, in the “personal address book”). Any thoughts on this? Maybe an extension? I have been searching the internet for a solution, yet so far without success.

    Thx!

  6. marketing says:

    marketing…

    […]How to NOT add addresses automatically « The unofficial how-to blog for Thunderbird[…]…

  7. I am wondering which blogging and site-building platform you’re running? I’m new to blogging and
    have been thinking about using the WordPress platform.
    Do you consider this is a good platform to start with?
    I would be very thankful if I could ask you some questions
    through e-mail so I can learn a bit more before getting started.
    When you have some free time, please be sure to get in touch with me at:
    carlo.jordan@zoho.com. Cheers

  8. You need to be a part of a contest for one of the best blogs on
    the net. I most certainly will highly recommend this
    site!

Leave a Reply

